Wednesday, October 5, 2022, 6:00pm - Select Board Meeting at Canaan Town Office See full schedule here
Wednesday, October 12, 2022, 6:00pm - Planning Board Meeting at Canaan Town Office
The Canaan Maine Fire Department is Actively Seeking Volunteers
New to Canaan Frequently Asked Questions
What are the Town Office Hours? Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday 8am to 12pm, 1pm to 4pm & Wednesdays 11am to 7pm
Where is the transfer Station or Dump? The Town of Canaan does not have a transfer station or dump. You must contact a local vendor to pick up your household trash such as Gregory's Disposal 465-9417; Bolsters Rubbish Removal 487-5048; or Pine Tree Waste 848-7551. We have two trash weekends, spring and fall, each year.
Does Canaan require building permits? No, the Town of Canaan is under the population that requires building permits, however interior plumbing permits, septic designs, and septics are required.
Where do I register my vehicle(s)? You must register your vehicles in the town where you live. You must bring your yellow registration from previous town to the town office.
I'm a new Maine resident, how long do I have to change over my license & registration? Maine Law requires you to transfer your out of state license and vehicle registration to Maine within 30 days of establishing residency. For more information, contact Canaan's Excise Tax Collector, Denise Stetkis at the Town Office 474-8682.
What is the post office hours and telephone number? The full service hours are Monday-Friday 7:30am - 11:30am, 12:30pm - 4pm and Saturday 8:45am - 10:45pm. The telephone # is 474-3349.
Where do I get a birth certificate? The town where your mother lived at the time of your birth or the town of the hospital where you were born.
How do I sign my children up for Lake George Day camp? The town office does NOT have camp applications here. You must contact Lake George at 474-1292 or you can contact them on Facebook.
Where can I register to vote? At the Canaan Town Office. Stop in and complete a voter registration application. Please see Elections & Voting for details on what you will need to bring with you!
What do I need to file with the town if I am operating a business? Whenever any person intends to engage in such business as sole proprietor or general partnership, they are required by State law to file with the municipal clerk a certificate. These certificates are not required if your business is incorporated or are an LLC. There is a one time filing fee of $10. Sole_Proprietor_Form.doc