In Office orders you must provide proof of identity such as a Valid Drivers License or State ID, State ID passport or other government issued picture ID. You will complete an application for obtaining a copy of the vital record (birth, death or marriage certificate) along with positive identification that clearly shows that the person requesting the record is who they say they are. Identification requirements apply whether the records are requested in person or by mail.
The fee for obtaining a certified copy of a certificate is $15.00 for the first copy of the record, and $6.00 for each additional copy of the same record purchased at the same time. Certified copies may be obtained at the Town Clerk's Office during regular business hours. Non-certified copies stamped "Not for Legal Use" are $10.00.
Genealogical research requests are $10 to search. If records are found, additional fees will apply depending on the number of copies of records requested. In order to obtain a certificate through the mail, the applicant needs to fill out a vital records search application and enclose a copy of proper identification and proof of lineage, if applicable. The application, along with the fee and a self-addressed, stamped envelope should be mailed to the Town of Canaan, Town Clerk at PO Box 68, Canaan, ME 04924. The request will be processed the same day it is received.
Effective July 12, 2010, the new law preventing fraudulent use of vital records went into effect. Maine's new law requires a person requesting a copy of birth records less than 75 years old to provide documentation establishing their direct and legitimate interest in the records.
Individuals who may access birth records less than 75 years old include:
- The person named on the record
- The person's spouse or registered domestic partner (must show marriage certificate)
- The parent(s) named on the record
- Guardian (must show court issued guardianship papers)
- Descendants of the person named on the record (child, grandchild, must show lineage)
- Registrant's legal custodian, guardian, or conservator or respective authorized representative (includes attorney, physician, or funeral director). Must show notarized statement from person
- Family: Grandparent, sibling, step-parent, step-child, aunt, uncle, niece, nephew, mother-in-law, father-in-law (must show proof of relationship)
- Genealogists who have a Maine CDC issued researcher identification card and have a direct and legitimate interest in the record. Must show personal ID, Maine ODRVS researcher card and written authorization to receive the record (direct and legitimate interest).
Once the wedding ceremony is complete, and the Town Clerk receives the marriage license back at the Town Office from the person who performed the ceremony. The Municipal Clerk records the marriage electronically. After the license is recorded, the couple may obtain a Certificate of Marriage from the Office of the Municipal Clerk where they applied for the license or from the Town or City where the ceremony took place.
The Certificate of Marriage is needed for a name change on a driver's license, passport, bank account, social security card, etc. Please note that the Municipal Clerk does not automatically mail the certificate of marriage. It is the couple's responsibility to appear before the Municipal Clerk to fill out an application and pay the fee to obtain the marriage certificate or they may use the online Vital Records Ordering service.
Birth records are available at the Town Office in the town or city where the mother was living at the time the child was born OR the hospital town/city where the child was born, and in Augusta at the Office of Vital Records.
Death records are available at the Town Office in the city where the death occurred, at the Town Office in the city where the decedent lived at the time of death, and in Augusta at the Office of Vital Records.