Town of Canaan Website Thumbnail
Phone: 207.474.8976
Fax: 207.612.2037

Births, Deaths, and Marriages

Recording Vital Statistics is the process of collecting data of all births, deaths and marriages that occur in the municipality, or involve its residents, so that the permanent records may be preserved. State law requires hospitals, physicians, funeral directors, ministers, notary publics, and others to complete certificates of all marriages, births and deaths in our municipality and file them with the Municipal Clerk promptly.
Effective July 12, 2010, the law preventing fraudulent use of vital records went into effect. Maine's law requires a person requesting a copy of birth records less than 75 years old, marriage records less than 50 years old, and death records less than 25 years old to provide documentation establishing their direct and legitimate interest in the records. Please click on the links below for more specific information on obtaining these vital records.
•Birth Certificates
•Death Certificates
•Marriage Licenses & Certificates 
If you would like to complete an Intentions to Marry form (must be completed before we process a license) before coming to apply for a Marriage License, please click on the link below.  Call the Town Clerk for an appointment to file for a Marriage License.  If you have any questions, please contact the town office.  
The Maine Office of Vital Records does not permit or allow any records, whether certified or non-certified, to be faxed to any individual, business, or institution. If a person needs a certified record faxed to the airport for travel, that person must contact the Office of Vital Records in Augusta, Maine. Municipal Clerks may not fax certified or non-certified copies of any birth, death, or marriage unless the Office of Vital Records has given authorization to the Clerk.
 
Maine Office of Vital Records
Department of Health & Human Services
244 Water Street
11 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0011
Telephone: (207) 287-3181 or Toll free 1-888-664-9491
 
Marriage Certificates
Once the wedding ceremony is complete, and the Town Clerk receives the marriage license back at the Town Office, the Municipal Clerk records the marriage and the license/certificate of marriage will be filed at the Town Office forever. After the license is recorded, the couple may obtain a Certificate of Marriage from the Office of the Municipal Clerk.
The Certificate of Marriage is needed for a name change on a driver's license, passport, bank account, social security card, etc.
Please note that the Municipal Clerk does not automatically mail the certificate of marriage. It is the couples' responsibility to appear before the Municipal Clerk to fill out an application and pay the fee to obtain the marriage certificate.
Effective July 12, 2010, the new law preventing fraudulent use of vital records went into effect. Maine's new law requires a person requesting a copy of marriage records less than 50 years old to provide documentation establishing their direct and legitimate interest in the records.
Individuals who may access marriage records less than 50 years old include:
·         The members of the couple named on the record
·         The parent(s) named on the record
·         Guardian (must show court issued guardianship papers)
·         Descendants of the person named on the record (child, grandchild, must show lineage)
·         Registrant's legal custodian, guardian, or conservator or respective authorized representative (includes attorney, physician, or funeral director). Must show notarized statement from person or his/her family or proof of contract.
·         Family: Grandparent, sibling, step-parent, step-child, aunt, uncle, niece, nephew, mother-in-law, father-in-law (must show proof of relationship)
·         Genealogists who have a Maine CDC issued researcher identification card and have a direct and legitimate interest in the record. Must show personal ID, Maine ODRVS researcher card and written authorization to receive the record (direct and legitimate interest).
Proof of identity must be presented to the Municipal Clerk. A brief application for securing a copy of the vital record must be filled out and presented, along with positive identification such as a driver's license, passport, or other government issued picture identification that clearly shows that the person requesting the record is who they say they are. Identification requirements apply whether the records are requested in person or by mail. More information on this issue may be found at www.mainepublichealth.gov
The fee for obtaining a certified copy of a marriage certificate is $15.00 for the first copy of the record, and $6.00 for each additional copy of the same record purchased at the same time. Certified copies may be obtained at the Municipal Clerks' Office during regular office hours. Non-certified copies stamped "Not for Legal Use" are $10.00.
In order to obtain a marriage certificate through the mail, the applicant needs to fill out a vital records search application and enclose a copy of proper identification and proof of lineage, if applicable. The application, along with the fee and a self-addressed, stamped envelope should be mailed to the Town of Canaan, Town Clerk at PO Box 68, Canaan, ME 04924. The request will be processed the same day it is received.
 
Birth Certificates
Birth records are available at the Town Office where the child was born, at the Town Office where the parents were living at the time the child was born, and in Augusta at the Office of Vital Records.
Effective July 12, 2010, the new law preventing fraudulent use of vital records went into effect. Maine's new law requires a person requesting a copy of birth records less than 75 years old to provide documentation establishing their direct and legitimate interest in the records.
Individuals who may access birth records less than 75 years old include:
  • The person named on the record
  • The person's spouse or registered domestic partner (must show marriage certificate)
  • The parent(s) named on the record
  • Guardian (must show court issued guardianship papers)
  • Descendants of the person named on the record (child, grandchild, must show lineage)
  • Registrant's legal custodian, guardian, or conservator or respective authorized representative (includes attorney, physician, or funeral director). Must show notarized statement from person or his/her family or proof of contract.
  • Family: Grandparent, sibling, step-parent, step-child, aunt, uncle, niece, nephew, mother-in-law, father-in-law (must show proof of relationship)
  • Genealogists who have a Maine CDC issued researcher identification card and have a direct and legitimate interest in the record. Must show personal ID, Maine ODRVS researcher card and written authorization to receive the record (direct and legitimate interest).
Proof of identity must be presented to the Municipal Clerk. A brief application for securing a copy of the vital record must be filled out and presented, along with positive identification such as a driver's license, passport, or other government issued picture identification that clearly shows that the person requesting the record is who they say they are. Identification requirements apply whether the records are requested in person or by mail. More information on this issue may be found at www.mainepublichealth.gov
The fee for obtaining a certified copy of a birth certificate is $15.00 for the first copy of the record, and $6.00 for each additional copy of the same record purchased at the same time. Certified copies may be obtained at the Town Clerks' Office during regular business hours. Non-certified copies stamped "Not for Legal Use" are $10.00.
In order to obtain a birth certificate through the mail, the applicant needs to fill out a vital records search application and enclose a copy of proper identification and proof of lineage, if applicable. The application, along with the fee and a self-addressed, stamped envelope should be mailed to the Town of Canaan, Town Clerk at PO Box 68, Canaan, ME 04924.
 
Death Certificates
Death records are available at the Town Office where the death occurred, at the Town Office where the decedent lived at the time of death, and in Augusta at the Office of Vital Records.
Effective July 12, 2010, the new law preventing fraudulent use of vital records went into effect. Maine's new law requires a person requesting a copy of death records less than 25 years old to provide documentation establishing their direct and legitimate interest in the records.
Individuals who may access death records less than 25 years old include:
  • Informant named on the record (must show personal ID)
  • Funeral establishment named on the record (must show personal ID)
  • The person's spouse or registered domestic partner (must show marriage certificate unless that person is named on the death record)
  • The parent(s) named on the record
  • Guardian (must show court issued guardianship papers)
  • Descendants of the person named on the record (child, grandchild, must show lineage)
  • Registrant's legal custodian, guardian, or conservator or respective authorized representative (includes attorney, physician, or funeral director). Must show notarized statement from decedent's family or proof of contract.
  • Family: Grandparent, sibling, step-parent, step-child, aunt, uncle, niece, nephew, mother-in-law, father-in-law (must show proof of relationship)
  • Genealogists who have a Maine CDC issued researcher identification card and have a direct and legitimate interest in the record. Must show personal ID, Maine ODRVS researcher card and written authorization to receive the record (direct and legitimate interest).
Proof of identity must be presented to the Municipal Clerk. A brief application for securing a copy of the vital record must be filled out and presented, along with positive identification such as a driver's license, passport, or other government issued picture identification that clearly shows that the person requesting the record is who they say they are. Identification requirements apply whether the records are requested in person or by mail. More information on this issue may be found at www.mainepublichealth.gov
The fee for obtaining a certified copy of a death certificate is $15.00 for the first copy of the record, and $6.00 for each additional copy of the same record purchased at the same time. Certified copies may be obtained at the Town Clerks' Office during regular business hours. Non-certified copies stamped "Not for Legal Use" are $10.00.
In order to obtain a death certificate through the mail, the applicant needs to fill out a vital records search application and enclose a copy of proper identification and proof of lineage, if applicable. The application, along with the fee and a self-addressed, stamped envelope should be mailed to the Town of Canaan, Town Clerk at PO Box 68, Canaan, ME 04924. The request will be processed the same day it is received.